The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to discourage people from the suburbs or the countryside from moving to the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there has been a surge in traffic in cities. Some people think that one practical solution to this is to stop suburban and rural people from moving to cities. I completely agree with the statement and will outline the reasons in this essay.

Firstly, the concentration of most facilities such as Hospitals and Schools in urban areas have made many people from the outskirts of cities travel to these places for better lives. As a result, these places' population density increased detrimentally, due to which there has been an upsurge in traffic during peak hours in cities. In developing countries such as India, governments could not provide many public transport facilities, and hence, most public transports are congested and cramped, causing inconvenience for the public. If the population is scattered equally across the state, governments could address these issues efficiently. Thus, discouraging people from the countryside from migrating to cities is a useful measure for avoiding transportation issues.

Similarly, since public transports are always heavily crowded, many people prefer their private vehicles for transportation. This increase in personal vehicles has led to heavy traffic congestion in these areas. Recent research found that people in urban areas spend 30 per cent of their productive hours in traffic-jams during peak hours. These unproductive hours have affected both their professional and personal life. In addition to this, an increase in traffic harms the environment too. Increasing usage of motorized vehicle has resulted in a rise in carbon footprints in these areas.

In conclusion, considering the above statements, I certainly, feel that ceasing people's migration from rural and suburban areas is an effective measure to resolve the current traffic and transportation issues.