Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local business are unable to compete Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities To what extent do you agree o

In this contemporary era, as people are fond of luxurious lifestyle, many people prefer giant supermarkets rather than local vendors. While some people claim that local communities would suffer because of this trend, others contend that the expansion of supermarkets are much needed for the society. As far as I am concerned, I partially agree with the statements and hence, I will discuss both the views in this essay.

Nowadays, many giant supermarkets are expanding across the globe as they have a better financial support. Whereas, the local markets could not compete with these giants and are suffering to survive in the market. In addition, as supermarkets are able to provide myriad discounts to their customers, the local business are pressurized to offer discounts, which is hardly possible for them. As a result, many local communities are forced to shut down their shops and pursue their career as daily wage labors. To exemplify, when Walmart started its business in the United States of America, hundreds of small vendors closed their operations, as they were not able to compete with it.

However, there are many alternatives which these people could take to develop their business. Firstly, with the influence of internet in the retail sector, people are slowly moving towards e-shopping. Hence, small vendors could make use of this technology to endure their business. For example, in the year 2013, many local grocery sellers in Haryana have merged their business with online grocery service platform ‘Grofers’, where they were able to compete with the legendary supermarkets. Further, governments offer loan facilities to the small and medium vendors to develop their business. For instance, the Indian government offered loan facilities of up to rupees 10 lakhs to micro enterprises under the scheme ‘Pradhan Mantri Mudra Yojana’ in the year 2015.

To conclude, I personally believe that although supermarkets have negative impacts on the local business, yet there are plethora of options for these vendors to survive in the market.