Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed However some people think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals Discuss both views and give your opinion

Undoubtedly, zoos are one of the favorite places for families to spend their leisure time. While some people questioned their value and the quality of care provided to the animals, others contend that they help in preserving the endangered species. Personally, I feel zoos are cruel, unnecessary and are ought to be phased out.

Although zoos have made great improvements over years, there can be no doubt that the captive animals suffer. First of all, these animals are shifted away from their habitats and undergo huge stress. Many animals like Elephants, adore to be in groups, which when ostracized, develop a lot of stress. In addition to that, animals lose their hunting skills and lack physical exertions. Tigers, for example, are known to chase and hunt their preys, whereas in zoos they are fed without any efforts of their own.

In terms of conservation, while zoos can aid in preserving the endangered species, this effort is futile. The mountain gorillas, for instance, has been successfully bred in captivity, but still the characteristics of the animal have changed a lot, as it is being grown in a different environment than their natural habitat. Now, even if they are introduced to the wilderness, they lack the skill of surviving as these animals are grown in an artificial environment. Hence, zoos have affected detrimentally on the livelihood of these animals.

In conclusion, zoos may be helpful in preserving the animals, but it affects the animals’ livelihood and freedom. Efforts should instead be made to protect the wilderness areas to ensure the long-term survival of the species