Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere To what extent do you agree with this view

It is generally accepted that art enriches a society and plays a valuable role in preserving cultural values of a country. Governments invest more money in art, while many think that this money has been squandered and could be invested in betterment of public services. I strongly agree that policy-makers must consider investing in health and education sectors more than funding arts.

Any government should concentrate on upscaling the health sector for the well-being of its citizens. This is because, more than anything, healthy citizens are the primary asset of any nation. In countries like South Africa, for instance, as most people suffer from many debilitating diseases, the governments could not strengthen their economy. Policy-makers could have had healthier citizens if they had invested in upscaling their healthcare services, which, in turn, would have improved their economy. Enhancing health sector, thus, is of paramount importance for any country.

Another crucial area which requires governments’ attention is education. Unlike arts which preserve the historical and traditional values, education helps in serving the needs of future. Any country which does not invest adequate money in education would not be able to withstand with the reality of future. India, for example, was a prosperous country prior to British colonization, but failed to invest in research of electronics and technology, and hence, was colonized and became an underdeveloped country. They could have become the most powerful nation with all their wealthy resources if they had invested more in development of technologies. Any government must, therefore, consider investing in education and research to make a country prosperous one rather than investing in arts.

To conclude, although arts play a crucial role of preserving one’s culture and tradition, government must consider investing in public services more than arts, as they aid in improving a country’s economy in the current and also the status of the country in the future.