Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent times, the world has become more connected and any happenings around the world are available over the internet. While a stratum of society insists that world news should be taught along with academics in schools, others disagree with the statement as they feel that it would create unnecessary pressure for the students. Although, I believe that international news is gratuitous to be taught at schools for the students, still I will delve into both views.

To commence with, let us discuss on the benefits of the world news at school. Since the globalization, the entire world has become a single entity. Any events occurring at a place have impact all over the globe. For example, when the coronavirus pandemic out broke in china, the entire globe got impacted. As the awareness regarding the same was taught in school, students became more conscious and took necessary precautionary measures. Adding further, when many events like achievement in the field of space and science are taught in school, it could inspire and motivate the young minds. To elucidate, when achievements of Kalpana Chawla was taught at school, many female students were inspired and got motivated to achieve in their area of interest.

However, including world news as part of academics have some drawbacks too. As the students are already over-pressured with the existing syllabus, adding more content to the syllabus would increase their stress. Moreover, as all the information are already available over the internet and media, students can learn it through them. Hence, the need for learning it through education is obsolete. For example, there are channels like British Broadcasting Corporation, which provide news about the happening around the world round the clock.

To conclude, students must gather knowledge about the international news, but it is not necessary that this information should be taught in schools as part of academics.