Most people these days prefer getting news online to reading newspapers or watching TV. Do you think it is a positive development?

Unlike old days where only newspapers and televisions were the only source of information, people in the current era have various sources for it. As news over the internet has gained an enormous popularity due to several reasons, there has been a continuous decline in those who are dependent on the print media and televisions for information. In this essay I will discuss why I think that this trend is a positive development.

While there are several advantages of reading news online over newspapers, I will discuss the most crucial ones. The primary advantage is that unlike traditional newspapers where people had to skim through each column to read their favorite news, they can search for the information directly over the online platform. As the online platform fetches information from various sources over the internet, the users get the advantage of verifying their favorite news across many authentic sources. Another advantage is that most of the online news applications are completely free of cost. Print media, however, usually charges a little subscription charges, which some of them feel is unnecessary when the information can be fetched for free over the internet. Insight, for example, is an online platform where quick information over the current politics, sports, science and movies are given for free to the users.

Similarly, many people prefer online news over televisions due to the following reasons. First of all, online news does not require people to wait for their favorite news until the prime time. As they can access the information instantly, it has been preferred by most people over the television media. Another reason is that people can access the information at their convenience from anywhere. Since people are living in fast-paced world, they do not have specific time to spend for gathering information and they feel online platform are very convenient as it gives them the freedom of reading or watching even when they are travelling too, for instance.

In conclusion, news over online platform has various advantages like easy accessibility of information, free of cost, instantly available and convenience. Hence, most people prefer it over the traditional platforms, and I, personally, feel that this development is certainly a positive one considering the above discussed advantages.