Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere?

To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is argued that a lot of funds are being wasted on developing arts or historical monuments by the public administration rather than putting them to other useful things. I completely agree with the above viewpoint keeping in mind other factors that need more funding as compared to arts and it involves money infusion, constructing huge museums or cultural parks for display.

Although arts have been an integral part of medieval times, nowadays with the population increasing every single day, there are many other factors like poverty and infrastructure that need more attention from respective governments. Poverty has become a menace in some economies around the world because of population explosion and in order to handle this, most of the nation’s budget should be allocated to eradicate such a situation. Moreover, investment in infrastructural enhancement is the need of an hour to accommodate overgrowing inhabitants. To illustrate, most developing nations are infusing huge amounts of money on social causes like poverty and developing cities to raise standards of people.

Another reason why most Governments should stop financing arts as it involves building huge museums and cultural parks for the display of hand-made sculptures and artwork of historical monuments. Furthermore, such buildings acquire a piece of land that can be used for constructing more medical clinics and community centers instead. For instance, the Italian Government spends half of its annual budget maintaining historical buildings and constructing new places for boosting tourism while ignoring countryside areas that need the utmost attention.

To sum up, Arts may attract huge crowds and even involves a lot of fame for some artists but it is not more than a leisure activity for most of the people around the globe, and they believe spending money is like wasting money on them. In addition, to showcase such creativities huge money from the yearly budget of any nation gets wasted on building museums and cultural grounds.