Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do it?

Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

It is argued by some masses that the best way to curb air pollution is having an international car-free day. While, few others think that there are numerous other options available, rather than observing such kind of day. Moreover, they believe that it is practically impossible to have this keeping in mind various unavoidable factors. From my perspective, I personally believe that we have a plethora of strategies, despite prohibiting cars on roads that can be implemented at governmental level to prevent this outspread pollution.

To embark with, having a road free of vehicles for a single day will reduce pollution by a good percentage, definitely. That is why many individuals in society believe to have a car-free day at the international level. They think that having such an occasion will not only reduce environmental contamination but it will also save a lot of fuel, which is used to run all vehicles around the world. In this way, it will benefit both, an environment as well as our oil reserves, being retained for future generations to come. Moreover, most of the people will prefer walking to their respective locations, as a result, it involves effective health benefits. For example, Aalborg, an industrial city in Denmark, observes May 1st as a car-free day and prohibits vehicles on roads using non-renewable sources of energy.

However, there are a handful of people in society, who have contradictory views. They believe that putting a ban on cars for one day is practically impossible on factors like medical emergency, time management, et cetera. They suggest that there are many other factors to minimize pollution like introducing an odd-even method, which allows even-numbered license plates on even dates and odd-numbered license plates on odd dates. Moreover, another possible way as per them is to implement a complete ban on diesel engines that have crossed 10 years in running. For example, in 2017, in the capital city of India, local authorities there announced odd-even rule for 10 days to handle the further contamination of air quality, and as a result, they were able to reduce pollution levels by 25% in one single day.

To sum up, pollution and its negative effects on the environment have become a global issue. However, few communities around the world opine to have a global car-free day while a few others suggest to undertake some important factors and focus on other solutions to smother it. I reckon that there are multiple other ways despite having an absolute car-free day.