The crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas.

Why do you think that is?

What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Nowadays in many countries crime has become a menace and is growing like a never-ending situation. Urban areas are experiencing a comparatively higher rate of crime than rural areas in most of the countries. The main reason for high-rise crime in urban areas as compared to rural areas is poverty and excessive unemployment. Governments of such countries must take necessary steps to reduce this to negative by recruiting more police officers and it can also be mend by increasing the capacity of CCTV cameras in high crime areas of a particular city.

To begin with, poverty is a big barrier for any nation to develop and is the main cause behind these incessant crimes. Most of the people below the poverty line indulge themselves in unlawful activities like pilferage, theft, and trespassing to fulfill their daily necessities. For example, In India, widespread gold chain and purse snatching have created a fear among women to come out on roads alone. Whereas unemployment is another main cause behind rising crime as people without jobs inculcate themselves in illegal acts out of frustration of not getting any job. For example, the City of Delhi noticed the highest rate of unemployment in march 2019 and at the same time, a survey of theft complaints showed numerous increase.

There are countless solutions to tackle this alarming situation. The main solution is increasing the staff of police officials which will help in increasing more surveillance in high crime areas. For e.g. Peel region of the greater Toronto area has one police officer over every 100 citizens which is not bad planning. On the other hand Governments of high crime nations must initiate necessary steps to overcome this fear of crime and its outcomes. The high tendency of CCTV footage cameras should be installed in areas experiencing huge rate of illegal acts and these cameras will help cops to nab the accused in short intervals of time. For E.g. Delhi chief minister installed 250000 CCTV night surveillance cameras all across the city which has helped a lot in reducing crime on busy roads of the capital city.

In conclusion, I reckon that crime needs to be cured from grassroots level arising out of poverty and massive unemployment. However, Respective Governments should take proper and genuine steps to overcome these fearful circumstances and provide citizens with good and lawful environment to live.