Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine However at best these methods are ineffective and at worst they may be dangerous What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In this modern era, people are realizing the importance of their traditional ways, especially in the field of medicine. While a stratum of society claims that alternative medicines like Ayurveda and Homeopathy could be dangerous, others contend that they are the oldest forms of medicines that existed before allopathy. As far as I am concerned, I partially agree with the statement and I will explain the same in this essay.

Nowadays, as people are becoming more conscious about their health, they started researching on the side effects of allopathic medicine. Understanding its impact on human body, they are moving towards alternative therapies like Ayurveda, which does not have any side effects. For example, for the common cold infections, allopathy medicine prescribes steroids like corticosteroids, which have many side effects on human body like High blood pressure, Glaucoma and other such complications. Whereas, in Ayurveda, the medicines are generally herbs and spices which does not have any aftereffects. Moreover, Ayurveda does not only have medicines for curing any diseases, but also in preventing the same. To exemplify, many Ayurveda medicines include turmeric and pepper which can act also a preventive medicine for many diseases.

On the flipside, there are few drawbacks in alternative medicines too. Firstly, although these medicines existed since many centuries, still there are no proven evidence on its effects. Furthermore, these medicines take longer durations to show positive reactions on a body. To elucidate, for critical diseases like Cancer, it would take ages to cure the disease in Ayurveda, before which the patient would die. Moreover, alternative therapy like acupuncture requires expertise to execute the therapy in a precise manner, as even a small mistake would have adverse effects on the human body. Hence, some people are afraid to experiment themselves with these therapies.

To conclude, I personally believe that although alternative medicines take longer duration to cure, still they are not dangerous and have been effective in many cases.