Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms

of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and

at worst they may be dangerous.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your

own experience or knowledge.

You should write at least 250 words.

Good health is a key factor for sustaining better life. Some people believe that the alternative form of medicines is effective whereas other dispute about its efficacy and safety. From my perspective I will partially agree that alternative medicines are ineffective and harmful.

To begin with, there are the different reasons why alternative medicines are ubiquitous and popular among people in the world. There are number of the anecdotal evidences supporting these therapists work. For instances, there are advertisements regarding the treatment of chronic diseases like diabetes, hypertension etc. in the mass media like radio and television. Furthermore, people are using the different forms of alternative medicines like homeopathy, acupuncture etc. from the ancient times. They have positive attitude towards therapy leading to cure due to its recommendation from friends and family members and its minimal side effects.

On contrary, the alternative therapies are not scientifically proven or not validated and take long duration for the completion of the treatment. Furthermore, people believe that herbal medicines are natural goods and are not harmful. However, they are subjected to cause harm or to interact harmfully. So, people and physicians need to be cognizant of the adverse effects of alternative medicines especially herbal medicines and the possibility of deleterious drug interaction to avoid further health complications, even worse at fatalities. Apart from this, those who experience placebo effects for alternative medicines may convinced and persuaded to extrapolate success to other forms of complementary medicines for more serious life-threatening illness. So, they may forfeit the opportunity to obtain proven treatment that may be helpful.

In conclusion, people may benefit from the use of alternative medicines like yoga, meditation. However, they pose health hazards to public not because of prescription but because of encouragement may disregard to evidence based treatment. So, government should educate populace about all the form of medicines and medical practitioners stay abreast in use of alternative medicines so that they can provide holistic approach in healing patients.