It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

Childhood is an imperative stage where the basic characters of humans are shaped. At younger age, it is easier to teach ethics, and punishment is the best deterrent to help them in learning the difference between what is right and what is wrong. Personally, I completely agree that punishment aids the children in developing better conscience and in this essay, I will outline what kinds of punishment is advisable.

In my view, learning virtues through punishments at younger age has various benefits. First of all, during childhood, children build their basic attributes through experiments. Indeed, they learn what is good and bad through the expressions of their parents. This can be supported by the recent research, where it is proved that most infants develop tantrums based on the way their parents reacted when they flared-up for the first time. If parents punish them during this stage, these children give-up such unruly behavior abruptly. Similarly, unlike teenagers, younger children do not require severe punishments. People at younger age often feel that they are punished even when they are just kept out of their comfort zone. Children, for example, could be punished by not allowing them to watch their favorite television shows. For the grown-ups, however, these punishments would not make a greater impact.

Although I accept that punishment is a significant tool for teaching morality in young children, I strongly believe that these punishments should not involve physical harassments. Children should be made to learn their mistakes through guilty conscience rather than through pain or fear. Ignorance, for instance, has huge impact on children and helps them to assess their mistakes better. Instead, if they are given harsh punishments such as beating, these children do not learn principle values and rather restrain from committing mistakes due to fear. Thus, gentle punishments have the right effect on younger people.

In conclusion, learning moral values at younger age helps people to shape-up their basic characteristics and require less-severe punishments. I, personally, feel that gentle punishments make greater impact on people as they help them to understand ethical values.