Junk food advertising has a harmful effect on society and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is the major concern that the current generation face. One of the major reasons for obesity is consumption of adulterated food or fast food. Since junk foods are promoted by the relentless advertisements, many contend that advertising of fast food must be banned. I personally believe that a ban on junk food advertisements would certainly have positive impact on the society.

Currently, people spend most of their times in entertainment shows and as they are continuously exposed to fast food advertisements, they are naturally tempted to eat these unhealthy meals. Domino’s, for example, promote their pizzas via advertising during kids programs, tempting them to buy these unhealthy cuisines. Most of the time, people are tempted by the false advertisements that shows the food is made up of natural vegetables and fruits, whereas in the ingredients it will be clearly mentioned that these foods contains only artificial flavors and chemicals. Thus, advertising of these unhealthy dishes has an adverse effect on society.

A ban on deceptive advertisements will be the right step in building healthy people. Maggie Noodles, for instance, promoted misleading information in their advertisements that their product contains healthier vegetables, whereas it actually contained lead. Without knowing this fact, many people, including kids, have consumed this product regularly and as a result, most of them got affected by debilitating diseases. When the government of India found that the product contains cancer-causing ingredients, the product as well its advertisements have been banned completely in the country. After the ban, people became aware about the side effects of these noxious products and refrained themselves from consuming similar products. Apart from banning these products and their advertisements, governments should also form regulatory bodies and conduct frequent audits to ensure these fast foods contain the minimum required nutrient values and also must ensure that the nutrient content of the food is clearly printed in the packaging of the product.

In conclusion, advertisements of fast food do have a negative impact on the society and tempt many people to consume the product without being aware of its side effects. A ban on the product and advertisement would definitely educate the people about its harmful effect on them.