Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language Do you think this is a positive or negative social development

Many scientists believe that our next generations will use a global expression to interact with each other. While this tendency might exert several negative effects on humanity, I still believe it has some positive effects.

Firstly, if a single language dominates the world, other languages would vanish. As languages play a vital role in a country’s culture, if they dissipate, every country would lose their identities. For example, countries like India has 22 languages and are known for its diversity. If these languages are replaced by a single language, the cultural values of the country would be devastated. To exemplify, in a recent education policy by the Indian government, when they tried to impose Hindi in south Indian states, there were large protest in the southern part of the country against the same. Further, if the entire world communicates in single language, it would become difficult to do secret communications. For example, whenever Indian cricket team plays against Australian team, the wicketkeeper used to give instructions to the bowler in Hindi, otherwise, the batsman would understand and play accordingly.

On the flipside, there are numerous advantages of a global language. As people speak same language across the globe, it would be easier for people to migrate to different places. To elucidate, currently people cannot immigrate to Germany, unless they are proficient with German language. However, if the entire humanity speaks a single language, anybody can travel to any country if they have the right skills for the profession. Moreover, as the world would have mono linguistics, information could be easily shared among people across the globe. For example, many information regarding astronomy and science are in Sanskrit language which if deciphered in English, the entire world would be benefitted.

To recapitulate, I personally believe that although unified language across the globe would impact the local languages, still its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.