Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this and how can the problems be managed?

Obesity is the major concern that children of the current generations face. Some of the primary reasons for obesity are sedentary lifestyle and consumption of unhealthy foods. In this essay I will discuss in detail about the causes of childhood obesity and I will suggest some measures in which the problem can be addressed.

In this contemporary era, people are more addicted to a sedentary lifestyle as a result most children do not engage themselves in physical exertions and spend most of their spare time in watching television. Since they do not indulge in physical activities, and do not follow a regular sleep patterns, they are affected by chronic overweight. Moreover, as young people are addicted to fast foods which contain more fat and sugar contents, they are more prone to obesity. Soft drinks, for example, have more sugar content which when consumed could cause diabetes and other illness for the kids. This combination of sedentary lifestyle and a junk food dies is, indeed, a dangerous one.

Challenging though this problem of childhood obesity is, there is much that can be done to manage it. Apart from addressing the above stated issues, a government must educate its citizens about the ill effects of convenience foods. By doing so, they can ensure that people are conscious about the adverse effects of adulterated diets on their body. In addition to this, they must form regulatory bodies to conduct frequent audits on food companies to ensure the product contains at least minimum tolerance level of nutrient values. Similarly, it can reduce taxes on healthy vegetables and fruits, thereby encouraging its people to consume more.

In conclusion, due to indolent way of living and consumption of junk foods, children are becoming more obese and this can be certainly addressed by government by educating its citizens, auditing the food outlets and reducing the taxes on healthy diets.