Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

Pollution is the major concern that every country faces in this contemporary era. Many suggest that the best way to curb the expanding traffic is to increase the price of fuels, whereas others disagree that there are other ways to reduce the traffic and pollution. Although, I completely agree that increasing the cost of fuels would definitely arrest the growing traffic and pollution, still I would suggest some other measures too in this essay.

To commence with, let us discuss about the impact of increasing fuel prices on traffic. First of all, the primary reason for increase in traffic around the globe is individuals’ mentality of not preferring public transportations. As everybody prefers their privacy over the global issue, these people use private cars for commuting; thereby increasing pollution and traffic. If the prices of fuels are increased, fearing their expenses, these people would prefer to travel by public transportation, and hence there would be a greater reduction in traffic and pollution.

Though the above said measure could help in reducing the pollution to some extent, decreasing fares of public transportation and reducing taxes on battery-vehicles could be other plausible solutions. People would prefer to travel in public transport systems like railways and buses, if the prices are reduced with respect to the quality of service they provide. In India, for instance, most people do not prefer buses because the fare is not worth the quality of service they provide. In addition to this, if the government reduces taxes on battery-operated cars, many people would prefer to own these no -emission cars. Once people buy these cars, the government could slowly reduce the manufacturing of petrol and diesel cars; thereby saving the future world.

In conclusion, increasing the fuel costs would certainly reduce the pollution in atmosphere and in addition to this, if government decreases public transportation fares and reduces taxes on battery cars, they can decrease the pollution to the utmost level.