In many countries the government likes to spend more money on the arts some people agree with this however other think government should spend more on health and education discuss both sides and give your opinion

Every country’s identity is preserved through its traditions, arts and cultures. While traditions and cultures have been inherited by the individuals, art is, certainly, the responsibility of the government to take care. Although some support policymaker’s investment in arts, others disagree that it should concentrate on upscaling the public services like education and healthcare. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I agree that regime should fund on art.

Art has been a medium through which a country’s history and heritage have been passed on for centuries. First of all, many countries have been losing their identity as the government is not keen on funding its art galleries. In India, for example, many of the artifacts in the Indian Museum, which has been preserved since BC200, are badly damaged and are irreparable. They are unable to preserve these antiques as the government does not sponsor the gallery and hence, many of these historical monuments are getting lost and damaged. In addition to this, art provides employment opportunities for many people in a country. Music, for instance, is an art which creates job opportunities for almost 20 percent in a country. Any country would become vague and unremarkable if policymakers do not invest in promoting these fine skills.

Others, however, argue that it is health and education which require more significance than art as these benefit the current generations to survive. In South Africa, for instance, many people are infected due to the poor sanitation of the country. It was even reported that almost 4 out of 10 people in South Africa have been affected by Cholera and diarrhea. With this condition, if the lawmakers invest more on improving the hygiene than spending in arts, definitely it will help its citizens. Similarly, some countries like Pakistan, have higher illiteracy rate, and the regime should fund in upgrading schools and amenities.

In conclusion, although some countries lack in education and healthcare services, I personally feel that equal priority should be given in preserving the arts of the country, considering its cultural and historical values.