A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs including uses for food and research

Even though, there is an enormous growth in technology, scientists are still exploiting animals for testing vaccines. While a stratum of society condemns this cruel act, others contend that testing on animals plays a crucial role in the field of medicine. Although, I do not support this grievous act of testing medicines on animals, still I will delve into both the views.

As some people believe that every creature in this planet have equal rights to live, they oppose the notion of testing medicines on animals, which could have deleterious effects on them. To elucidate, as per ‘Cruelty Free International Organization’, more than 115 million animals are in experiments globally every year, of which almost 30 percent of them dies due to side effects of the medicines used. For example, Aspirin, a commonly used drug by humans for pain-relief, has noxious effects on animals and as a result, many animals had died. Moreover, animals do not get many of the human diseases like HIV, Parkinson’s disease and many types of cancer. For testing vaccines on animals, the symptoms of those diseases are artificially induced in animals in laboratories to mimic the human disease. Thus, animals are tormented in an artificial environment for the benefit of humans.

On the other hand, it is believed by some that animal research is extremely beneficial. One point to consider is that the various new drugs discovered, after testing them on animals, have saved number of human lives. For instance, drugs tested on animals to know their effects have revolutionized the management of the blood cancer patients. Adding further, research on animals is conducted in a controlled environment and is not as painful as claimed by various animal welfare organization. For example, anti-snake venom is extracted from horse and sheep without inflicting even mild pain to them.

To conclude, although, animal research has been supporting a lot for human’s knowledge on medicines, still its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.