Should parents be obliged to immunise their children against childhood diseases Or do individuals have the rights to choose not to immunise their children Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

With the technological advancements in the field of medicine, humans were able to conquer many of the deadly diseases in the past. While some advocate that government should mandate vaccination for all children against common diseases, others contend that parents should take the decision of immunizing their children or not. Although, I completely agree that the decision should be left with the individuals, I will still discuss both the views in this essay.

Many educated people support mandating the immunization due to several reasons. One of the most crucial reasons is they believe that if every child is inoculated against common diseases like small pox or flu, the human race would be able to abolish the diseases completely in the future. Polio, for instance, was a deadly virus which affected many people detrimentally and was abolished almost across every country when the government immunized all the citizens mandatorily. Another reason that they state is that not everyone understands the science behind vaccinations and most of them refrain from inoculating without knowing its benefits. If the government does not oblige vaccinations for coronavirus, none of the people would be interested in immunizing themselves against the virus, fearing the side effects of the vaccinations.

On the other hand, people, including myself, feel that parents should take the decision of vaccinating their kids. Not every child has same level of immunity and it is purely dependent on the type of food and the environment in which they grow up. In India, for example, most people follow traditional foods which have all medicines required to fight against common flu virus. People also opt for safest medical treatments like Ayurveda, in which the common diseases are treated with herbs and oils, rather than inoculating a dead or minimum level of virus into the body. In addition to this, parents know more about their child’s medical conditions and hence, they can deny any vaccinations which might have adverse effects on their kids.

In conclusion, although I agree that immunizing children against common debilitating diseases is of paramount importance, the decision of immunization should be given to the individuals rather than mandating it by the government.