Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local business are unable to compete Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities To what extent do you agree o

Globalization renders international companies inevitable. As the number of supermarkets soared, many people claim that most local businesses are often adversely affected, and some believe that this might result in extinction of a few local communities. I strongly agree that expansion of international businesses affect some indigenous shops and will elaborate the same in this essay.

Multinational supermarkets have many advantages over local vendors, of which I will be discussing the most crucial ones. First of all, these companies are often more popular than the local shops as they use the same name all over the world. As a result, these shops are easily remembered and preferred over the local vendors. In addition to this, as these shops have huge financial support, they can attract more people through lucrative discounts to catch the market. These companies commonly believe that heavy investments in the beginning will return higher profits over the years and thus, they reduce their profits by offering more discounts at the start.

On the contrary, most local businesses are often incapable of competing with these giant companies. Since most local shops do not have fund for powerful marketing, they fail to attract new customers and are solely dependent on the local communities. When these community people move towards supermarkets, most local vendors are significantly affected and are often forced to shut down their business. Furthermore, many of these vendors do not possess any other professional skills to cope with the current market and are left jobless. At some cases, these people end their lives as they are unable to afford to the basic needs of their families; resulting in loss of indigenous people and business in those areas.

In conclusion, the growing international business in some cities has certainly engulfed the small local shops and it is clearly evident that these areas are losing their local communities at a detrimental pace.