Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations To what extent you agree or disagree

A lot of money is spent on scientific studies and discoveries. According to some sections of society, only regulatory bodies such as government organizations should hold the supreme power in overseeing these research projects, whereas others feel private organizations should also be entitled. In my opinion, individual companies should assist these research projects mainly from a financial standpoint. Moreover with their intellectual knowledge spanning beyond various geographical locations, they are more privy to international exposure.

Firstly, although the country’s regulatory bodies pump in millions of dollars in the field of research and development, there is still an upper cap in the cash inflow as the funds are divided among other sectors such as poverty or education. However, this is not the case in private organizations as their prime objective is the research. Tesla is a case in point. As of 2019, Elon Musk , the founder of Telsa, an automotive industry is developing a technology to reach Mars.

Secondly, if a research project is funded by a government organization, only citizens from that specific country where these fundings occur can be a part of it due to confidentiality and security reasons. As a result of which the knowledge that comes into the project is restricted. This is not the case in privately-owned organizations. Due to their diverse pool of scientists, more international exposure is brought into their research. One clear example is Astrazenca, a pharmaceutical company employing doctors from all around the world for the development of the Covid-19 vaccine.

To conclude, the prime focus of research is for the betterment of mankind, and with better capital funding and knowledge that privately-owned organizations possess, they should be able to fund and control the research projects across the world.