Some people think that because of email and telephones communication among people is less personal now then it used to be Do you agree or disagree with that view Use specific reasons and examples to support your view

With enormous advancements in technology, communication has seen greater heights. While some contend that electronic mailing and social media have adverse effect on personal communications, others argue that it has positive impact on it. Although the internet-based communication has been helpful in keeping in touch with the people overseas, regardless of the geographical proximity, I feel it has some drawbacks too, and I will discuss the same in this essay.

Certainly, modern forms of communication are faster and can connect people irrespective of their locations. Emails like Gmail and Yahoo mail, for example, have been connecting people instantly and are highly useful in case of emergency communications. Similarly, social media has been helping people to know more insights about our friends and families like their achievements, anniversaries and birthdays, which were not possible in the traditional forms of communication, unless the other person remembers it personally. I would argue, however, that wishing via emails and social media have become ubiquitous and hence, do not have any emotional value.

Conventional forms of communication, by contrast, are slower but create stronger bonds. Handwritten letters, for instance, take 2 days to several weeks to reach the recipients, but still the nostalgia that it creates when the reader reads the letter can never be replaced by any forms of the latest communications. It can reminiscence the memories vividly within minimal amount of text. In addition to this, the effort and the time that the sender puts in making the letter more personal and attractive would be clearly evident. This has certainly made the traditional forms of communication more special and emotional than the any of the latest forms of communications.

In conclusion, even though internet-based communications are capable of connecting with more number of people with minimal efforts, they certainly lack any emotional bond with anyone that the traditional forms of communications can make.