In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In developed countries, people are living longer than ever. In this essay I will discuss some of the challenges this brings and propose ways in which the consequences of a rise in the number of older citizens can be mitigated.

While the addition of a decade or more onto our lives can be wonderful, there are inevitably challenges that will arise for the individual. One of these is the onset of debilitating diseases such as Alzheimer and diabetes. These diseases not only make it difficult to continue to enjoy a normal life but also put a great strain on other members of the family who may have to bear much of the burden of care financially and/or physically. Another issue is the financial strain the elderly themselves can be under. If they retired at the age of 65 but live beyond 90, they may well find that their savings run out and they become either destitute or reliant on state or family care.

Clearly, society as a whole is impacted as well. As an increasing proportion of a country’s resources end up being dedicated to the care of the elderly, much needed funds are taken away from other areas of society such as schooling and security. In the UK, for example, the budget for aged care has risen by millions of pounds, though it is still not enough to provide adequate care for pensioners. Meanwhile, schools and law enforcement have had their budgets slashed, to the detriment of education standards and public safety.

In order to adapt to this new reality, several steps can be taken. The most obvious one would be to increase the age of retirement. Rather than force people to give up work at 65, which could eventually place them in dire financial circumstances, healthy individuals should be encouraged to continue working longer. This would mean more taxes paid, and less money flowing out into pensions. A second simple measure would be to prioritize preventative healthcare. In other words, rather than wait for aged people to develop illnesses, the government should subsidize exercise programs, nutrition classes, and even fund practitioners to conduct home visits in order to keep elderly people active members of society for longer.

In conclusion, we can see clearly that both individuals and society are struggling to find a way to deal with increasing life expectancy. Increasing the retirement age and providing early health services are just two ways the authorities can work to reduce

the pressure of ageing populations.