Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is obvious that governments make every effort to allocate budgets to road structures. However, it seems to me that rail facilities are the main priority for nations, and I will explain the reasons here.

Firstly, being among high-capacity public transport, trains are the most cost-effective option for those who want to travel to a remote destination. This means a train ticket is less costly than providing fossil fuel such as petrol for a privet car to arrive at the same place. A secondary reason is regarding traffic congestion on roads due to a large number of autos driving on the highways. Using train technology results in reducing bottlenecks as well as traffic jams in roads, and time-consuming for those who choose this kind of public transportation. Last but not least, road accidents are a challenging issue for not only governments but also passengers. Supporters of railways believe that the accident risks of travelling with vehicles are higher than using railway system. Moreover, authorities should allocate a certain amount of money to deal with the damages of these road disasters. Therefore, governmental administrators are highly recommended to fund and invest in railways infrastructures rather than increasing road space, which is a kind of an outdated system.

Of course, it is true that the majority of products are distributed through existing networks, especially where there are no rail facilities. Nevertheless, authorities may subsidize public or private companies more than ever to develop railways in areas where they suffer from lack of train systems.

In conclusion, I would not wish to neglect or underestimate the potential usage of road networks, and it should certainly be accessible as an option for people. However, if we think about all people, governments are suggested to spend part of their budget on the stronger way of public transportation.