With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement in technology, the mortality rate has dropped resulting in the increase of world population which raises the issue of providing food to everyone. It is thought by some that this problem can be solved by genetically modifying the food because of quick growth. However, I strongly disagree due to health and unemployment concerns.

Although GM foods have their advantages and mainly that it can be available throughout the year because of speedy growth as compared to traditional farming. Not only the seeds are genetically modified but also the special conditions that crops are grown in results in quick growth. Because of this reason one can easily purchase any food in any season. For instance, one can easily purchase oranges throughout the year.

Nevertheless, the demerits of GM foods are outweigh its benefits. Basically, the DNA structure of these foods are modified that are thought to be harmful for living beings. According to Harvard University researchers, the consumption of these foods has not only increases the allergies among people but also they are resistive to antibiotics. Therefore, these foods are not good for health.

Additionally, GM foods are responsible for the increase in an unemployment rate of a country. Since big corporations have invested heavily in the production of special seeds, therefore they patent them. To gain profit, the selling price of these seeds are set high by these organisations which farmers cannot afford. This has led farmers to abandon the farming resulting in increase in an unemployment rate of a country. For example, in India, about 40% of the population is associated with farming and according to recent surveys, many have left this occupation because they simply cannot able to purchase the genetically modified seed. Therefore, these foods are negatively effecting the employment rate of a country.

In conclusion, although one can easily purchase GM foods through out the year but it has affected both the unemployment of a country and health of people. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the notion that GM foods are the only solution for providing food to a large population.