In some cultures people give more value to old people while in other cultures people give more value to young people. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The importance given to youth or old people differs in each society. In some cultures younger people value more just because of their enthusiasm while others tends for experienced people. However, I believe that old people should be given more importance.

On one hand, firstly, the youth has can do attitude and they are full of energy. Once they start solving any issue, they’ll spend most of the time on it without even caring for meal or break. For instance, when I was working on a final year project during bachelor’s degree program, a hardware failure occur and I stayed at university lab all night in troubleshooting while skipping dinner. Secondly, the young generation is full of ideas and up to date with the latest technology trends. So, while working for any organization, they can use that knowledge and works in the successfulness of the company. Therefore, because of these reasons, young people are prefer in every walk of life in various countries.

On the other hand, although because of aforementioned less crucial reasons, the older generation is wiser, skilled, experienced and have more knowledge as compared to youth. These are the attributes that are successfully explored by different societies and organizations which become the pillars for their development. For example, when I was working for a university, the management had decided to hire an experienced head of department. On the very first day, he had arranged a faculty meeting and very cleverly understand the traits of people and used them accordingly during the engineering council visits resulting in an accreditation of university with engineering council. Therefore, the companies can easily flourish by using old people, ultimately helping the country growth.

In conclusion, the young people can bring energy and can do attitude to the culture, however, the old people are more experienced and skilled that can be used to flourish the nation. Therefore, I believe that old people should be given more importance in any culture or society than younger generation.