How to control stress?

Nowadays stress, which is considered as the “health epidemic of the 21st century” by the World Health Organization, is becoming increasingly common in social life. According to the Busy Lifestyle, the percentage of people who suffer from stress in the United State and Japan is 60 and 40, respectively. Besides the popularity, stress can also pose several major health problems or even deaths. It is recorded that, by the year 2014, there have been approximately 800 deaths caused by stress in overworking in Japan. These horrible statistics suppose to provide an overview of the harmful aspect of stress, which should be prevented. Although it is impossible to completely eliminate stress, there appear three basic ways to make it be in control.

The first way to relieve stress is maintaining optimistic attitudes towards stressful circumstances. Virtually people encounter several difficulties such as unemployment or divorces, which will cause pessimistic thoughts. If they sustain these feelings of discouragement, they probably ruin their life by increasing stress. Therefore, whenever facing problems, we should keep a positive perspective to handle them, or try to find the good aspect of those ones. For instance, a worker is forced to work at the weekend, though he has planned for a short trip before. Instead of being annoyed, he accepts happily by contemplating the bonus.

In addition to the attitude, arranging a schedule to manage time is likely an efficient way to control stress, especially at work. “Lack of time and stress go hand in hand, as evidenced by the data: 54% of Americans who do not have enough spare time these days say they frequently experience stress”, Joseph Carroll, a professor in literature and evolution, stated. People who have appropriate timetables can be flexible in their works, instead of rushing or forgetting. Consequently, they manage to balance time at work and their leisure time.

Last but not least, we should avoid consuming alcohol to recover from stressful occasions. According to Kristeen Cherney and Tim Jewell, whenever people drink alcohol, they will feel relax. It is believed that this comfortable feeling relates to the “blood alcohol content (BAC).” However, the strong sense consumers fascinated is impermanent. It is a result of an increase in “BAC level”, but when this level decreases, the feeling of discouragement will appear.

In short, it is hopeless eliminating stress completely. However, staying positive, establishing an appropriate schedule, and avoiding using alcohol may help to make the anxiety in control.