If children behave badly should their parents take responsibility and also be punished? State your answer and give your reasons. OR If a five year old commits a crime (any kind), should his/her parents accept responsibility and how should they be punished. What is the age of a child when parents no longer have the responsibility of a child's behaviour?

About three years ago, a local newspaper reported that one of the top local primary school student committed suicide because the student had been prosecuted of stealing. This student is supposed to have a bright future and should not necessarily end in that way, bringing a public concern on the increasing crime rate among these young generations. This essay will elaborate the root courses along with some suggestions.

There are multifarious reasons behind this problem. The first and foremost one is that the parent do not pay enough attention on their child. In many metropolises, it is common phenomenon that both father and mother are working class and they do not allocate sufficient time to their child. Stemming from this, these parents are not able to identify the behavior problem at earlier state. Secondly, most of the teenagers would like to show that they are outstanding from their peer. One easier way is to commit stealing. To them, it not only proves that they are brave enough to do so, but also circumvents from the adult. Even though these courses are seemingly unavoidable, the effect can be mediated if adequate measures are in place.

The problem can be actually tackled by both employers and government. Primarily, employers should adopt flexible working hours to the employees who has children in home as it can allow parent the flexibility to arrange time to look after their child. Secondly, government can promote different kinds of sport in school, allowing teenagers to compete with the peer in the proper way. Also, it can further strengthen their physical body.

To sum up, it is the fact that crime rate among young generations is indeed increasing. However, with the joint effort of both employers and government, the problem is surmountable. Personally speaking, our children is our future hope, we should on no account allow the tragedy mentioned above happening again.