With an increasing population communicating via internet and text messages, face to face communication will become a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree?

The dawn of twenty first century has witnessed an unprecedented evolution in the field of communication. It is believed that due to increasing use of technological communication, face to face communication will become history. In my opinion, I agree that face to face communication will become less popular.

I am in favor of the argument based on the phenomenon that has transpired in our society. These days internet-based communication is quick, reliable and easily accessible thus eliminating the traditional mechanism where people used to travel long distance to interact or deliver message. Since internet network is available around the globe, people can contact friends or family member scattered around the world at any hour of the day. Furthermore, internet communication is available in many different ways. For example, we can easily send emails, messages or engage in video chat. In other words, it is easier to see live through the screen. For instance, I use skype to every evening to chat with my parents in Pakistan.

Secondly, the advent of technology has transformed the business functions and the way it performs. Conventionally, trader used to travel long distance to buy a product or for business meetings which is costly and time consuming. The instant communication tools have eliminated the need to travel long distance or to have an interaction or deliver a message. For instance, online shopping has made it easier for a customer to purchase the product without even visiting the shop or to have face to face interaction making business transactions quicker.

All in all contemplating, the use of modern technology has grown substantially leading to frequent use of voice call, emails, messages and video and minimized the time and effort for in person communication. This trend clearly suggest that it will certainly replace the face to face interaction in near future