Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

Traffic congestion which leads to many kinds of pollution is one of the most disturbing problems in developing countries. This is a commonly held belief that rising petrol costs would solve traffic density problem. Admittedly, I completely believe that there is a positive correlation between petrol expenditures and lower traffic dense.

To begin with, the most rational justification is that the price of petrol adversely affects on the traffic issue. That is, if the governments increase petrol costs, people especially the poor and middle class tend to less use their personal vehicles. Take some developing countries such as Iran which has tripled the cost of gasoline as an example. People in this country reduce using their car and consequently traffic density substantially declined. Large scale investigations show that reducing just twenty percent of drivers on roads have a crucial impact on traffic problem. Simply put, the more vehicle fuel costs increase, the more people use public transportation in place of their car.

Yet another compelling stratagem to dissolve fostering traffic and pollution problems is to extend and boost roads. Expanding city roads lead cars to move in different ways to approach a particular destination. A good illustration of this is the United State cities which lots of roads dispersed over large areas. So their people never face traffic congestion and suffer get stuck in it. Furthermore, increase and develop public transportation plays an important role in lowering traffic jam. If people feel convenient in using public transportation such as subway, they eliminate driving their vehicles.

In conclusion, raising the cost of petrol can be rewarding. Moreover, considering the points discussed above there are other greater measures such as roads widespread and developing public transportation that help to decline traffic and pollution problems.