Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree and disagree ? What other measures do you think might be effective ?

Nowadays, traffic and pollution are growing problems in most countries over the world. Personally, I disagree with the idea that higher petrol prices could solve these problems, and I believe that various other measures would be more effective.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why increasing the price of petrol is the most effective way to deal with the traffic and pollution problems. First, increasing the price of petrol make people will change their priority of choosing a vehicle, which means that they will use a vehicle saving your income in purchasing any fuel. For instance, some people will choose the kind of vehicle which can save its source. Moreover, with the climb in the price of petrol, it is clear that the number of transportation is declining because every individual has to pay a huge amount of money to recharge their full sources. Therefore, the traffic congestion in most big countries has declined and it can prevent the environment from occurring CO2 emission.

However, there are several solutions to solve traffic congestions and pollution more efficiently than increasing the petrol price. The first is to decrease the number of private cars on the road by improving the public transport system to encourage more individuals to use it. This system can be appropriate for an average person when it not only has more public transport available and make it more punctual but also reduces the price of every ticket. Another measure is to have no traffic zones in the city centers which will reduce both congestion and pollution in urban areas. For instance, the main purpose of pedestrians in every big city is to decline both traffic congestion and pollution in this area.

In short, several factors describe the reason for solving traffic and pollution problems, but an increase the petrol is only one of them. In fact, I would argue that improving the public transport system and opening the pedestrian zones are both more important than petrol’s rise alone.