Increasing the price of the petrol is the best way to solving growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

Increasing traffic and environmental contamination are the major problems faced by many countries around the globe. Some people think that the best solution to these problems can be by increasing the price of petrol. However, other's believe that there are many other measures, such as educating people and installing air quality meters which can be helpful to ameliorate the situation.

There are two major reasons due to which increasing the price of petrol will not be a best solution to curb the pollution. If price of the petrol is increased then it will eventually increase the inflation in the economy and will leave the people with less purchasing power. In addition, it will also disturb the overall national income of the economy as petrol is one of essential component in calculation of imports and exports.

Another possible reason is that, people have become accustomed to driving vehicles for work and it is quite difficult for them to overcome this habit. For instance, people always prefer to choose their comfort over price and same will be the case with petrol. Everyone knows that pollution is increasing, but they will still prefer to travel by their own vehicle because they are concerned about their heath and comfort instead of petrol price.

To overcome the growing traffic and pollution issues various measures can be taken by the government. Firstly, government should educate the public about the ill-effects of the pollution on health. Secondly, Air quality meters should be installed on prime location of the city so people can know about the real time air quality. Also, people should be motivated to use car pool and compressed natural gas rather than petrol.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that the best solution to overcome traffic and pollution is to increase price of petrol because it will not result in permanent resolution. Government intervention and public education will be useful method to control this.