Individuals can do nothing to change society. Any new developments can only be brought about by governments and large institutions. How far do you agree or disagree?

Throughout history, many changes have been occurring in society that either improved or worsened the lives of numerable people all over the world. Some people argue that only governments and corporations are capable of bringing evolution to society. I partly disagree with this opinion for two reasons mentioned below.

Firstly, many countries gained independence that derived from the excellent leading of individuals. Just a few decades ago, a number of small nations were invaded by powerful ones. Take Vietnam as an example, in the Vietnam war, Ho Chi Minh as a prime minister who lead resistance against slavery regime of southern government and United State. He resembled the northern army and then freed the south. Eventually, he united the entire country. As a result, the United States had to withdraw their troops out of VietNam and admit Vietnam as an independent and liberal country. If no one like Ho Chi Minh appeared, Vietnam could divide into the north Vietnam and the south. Therefore, an individual can make a huge difference, even change the destiny of a country.

Secondly, a large number of conservationists assembled to appeal for environmental protection and they made people perceive how the environment has been destroyed significantly. They spoke up and put pressure on governments in order to make them reduce the consumption of fossil fuels. In this case, one person may not have a speech but an assembly of thousands will provoke an impact on the decision of the government. Thus, individuals can total help to develop society. The more people there are gathered, the more powerful impact it can raise.

In conclusion, for the betterment of society, governments and individuals both have to take responsibility. With cooperation between them, the world can emerge even from the worst condition.