It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet . Do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the development of transportation, people now tend to go abroad to understand the cultural knowledge of people who live around us . While a number of people believe that it is not crucial to go on a trip to learn their way of living as some sources of information such as : books, films or the internet are also available. From my perspective , I would argue that I completely disagree with this opinion.

Firstly, it will be easier for us to learn about cultural knowledge if we get in touch with native directly. Instead of staying at home and watching some pictures or videos on television and computer boring , a journey will make you more active and excited. For instance, when you spend a period of time travelling to other places, you can make friends with indigenous people who best understand their culture and ask them to know more about their life or take part in some common activities. Moreover, meeting different people living in many lands not only help you to learn about cultural quintessences but also provides life experiences. For example, when you visit ethnic minorities, you will know how they catch fish by hand or protect themselves from wild animals.

Secondly, the information provided on platforms is biased and subjective. It is apparent that most articles or books about culture are written based on personal experience or feelings of authors who went through these places. As a result, the information we read may be incorrect and we can misunderstand about the people of these places. In addition, books or the internet can not provide enough information about unique features of the place which you want to explore. Thus, our knowledge will be limited and impose our thoughts on the residents.

For the above reasons, I firmly believe that learning new things from other people by travelling is necessary.