It seems clear that obesity in today s society is to some extent due to the availability of fast food Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed

In this contemporary era, Health problems caused by the excessive partake of fast foods have assumed as an epidemic all over the world. According to some people, it is significant to place a huge tax on junk food to discourage people from eating such foods. In my opinion, this will deter only the middle and lower income groups.

To begin with, imposing a higher tax will make fast foods unaffordable to poor people. This will force them to cook proper meals at home. Although, this might cause some inconvenience to them, it is actually good for their health. However, the taxes will not discourage affluent consumers from buying fast food. They will continue to ingest it. That means exaggerating the tax on fast food will have only a marginal effect on its consumption.

Scrutinizing further, Creating awareness about the ill-effects of easy foods is also unlikely to be of much help. Most people who take these foods are actually much aware of its health consequences. For instance, a survey conducted in Singapore, one of the developed countries in the world, revealed that people are compelled to buy convenience foods because of their busy schedule even though they having cognizance of the health problems.

In addition to this, a better solution is to make healthy food more affordable and accessible. because one of the main reasons that increase the sale of fast foods is only due to ready to eat in a matter of minutes. Many people are consuming fast foods because healthier alternatives are not conveniently available.

Hammering the final nail, I pen down saying that increasing the tax on fast foods will only deter the low income groups from buying them. If the governments really want to alleviate the consumption of fast foods, making healthier alternatives more affordable and obtainable is the best solution.