Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

There are lots of language variations in the world. And some countries may also use different first language. This may cause barrier in the communication that may lead to social problems. But, in this millennial era, technology has developed fast. This development can help overcoming social problems, although not all. So i only partly agree with the statement in this question.

In my opinion, an inability to understand the foreign language where we live will create some problems in our daily life. Consider an example, where we go to the local markets and unable to communicate what we are looking for, and not being able to understand what they explain are something hard to face. This will restrict us to communicate with the local people in the country, and thus can make us feel stressful and depressed.

But, in this millennial era, where technology has developed fast, this problem is hard to resolved anymore. For the example, there is application called Google Translate, where we can search for the translation of any language. Google Translate also provides they correct way to pronounce the translation, so it can help people to speak it to the local people. Google Translate also has features where people can take a picture of any "unknown language" and translate it into the language that we know.

Another example is the availability of GPS. GPS stands for Global Positioning System. It is an application that shows us our position and provide the way to almost all places in the world. For instance, we are lost in a country where we don't understand the language. We can easily tap our phone and search for the route in the GPS. The situation is different than where technology has not developed, where asking people was "the only way" to find out the correct route to strange places.

So in conclusion, inability to speak in a foreign language can still cause social problems, but not that serious. Because, the establishment of new technology helps overcoming the problems.