Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that public library maintenance is a waste of taxpayers money, due to the fact the modern gadgets such as computers and tablets replace its primary role. While it is prominent that state-of-the-art technology indeed brings great impact to the way people studies, I still strongly believed that public libraries is still worth the penny for every taxpayer. This essay seeks to enlist a few reasons behind this thought, followed by a logical conclusion.

Firstly, we are in the stage where technology is so vast that we can cherry-pick any tool that we wanted to help us in our daily studies. But, that is not in the case for every individual, particularly in developing countries. People reside in this territories struggles to have something on their plate,much more to have a gadget to aid them with their research. For example, people living in rural areas such as mountains doesn't even have money, electricity, or even allowed to bring home a book. Hence, these young ones rely on libraries to do there assignment and research.

Secondly, though technology offers convenience in the way that a book can be squeeze into a couple of mega bytes and can be accessed globally using the internet, it still has its own disadvantage. Research shows that frequent use of gadgets greatly affects the persons vision, this is due to the radiation that is transmitted during utilization. For example, young ones who uses tablets or computers to do their research often uses eyeglasses due there vision is getting blurry from too much screen exposure.

In conclusion, money use to maintain public libraries is worth every penny since it doesn't only cater indigent students, but also it is merits peoples wellness.