In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce crime levels?

Model Answer 1:

Crime is a very old phenomenon and no one knows when it actually started. The sad fact is that crime rate is increasing including killing, stealing, robbing, kidnapping, rape… etc. Actually, there are many reasons for that awful and miserable phenomenon.

Some people always look at other peoples' properties and not pleased with what they have. And that, of course, leads to hatred and then lead to misdeeds. Moreover, some people are psychiatric disordered and which in turn leads to violence. Another thing that we should take care of is the lack of necessary money; many criminals would not have become criminals if they had had enough money and other daily needs for themselves and their families. In a recent study about crimes and their reasons, professor Kathy Mac James said that 85% gangsters joined gangs due to the shortage of social welfare. She protested that this majority of gangsters were either orphan who didn't get enough care during childhood and adolescence or not married. Now it is the time to raise an important question: ‘do all the previous reasons give you the right to be a criminal? The answer comes immediately: of course not, even if you don't have a cent in your pocket.

Another important question is: What is the solution of this heinous situation? How can we overcome crime in our society? In my opinion, it's the responsibility of both the government and individuals. In fact, most of the burden is on the government and they alone cannot eliminate crime from a country. It's very important to reinforce the policemen with the latest equipment and set firmer laws to prevent criminals from thinking of crimes.

And for individuals, which includes people like you and me, we should help the needy, not only with money but also psychological help and support.