In many countries, governments have spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropiate use of government money?

Improvement of internet access has been an important fact for governments investments in different nations. However, I believe there are more relevant issues that should be embrace by the government's economy such health care.

On one hand, a possible reason why governments funds have been spent on improving internet access is because it is an important tool for enterprises to be able to have constant communication with overseas, either as part of their sales, associates or to contact other industries as a need of supplies. Furthermore, there is a possibility that the governments are investing on their nation's education as well, which would explain the significance of having an acceptable network's connectivity to enable people to access to the free online information sharing.

On the other hand, personally, I do not think internet connection should be the greatest investment governments need to do, I rather believe health care is the most important aspect in a nation, reason why governments money should be spent on this fact. Therefore, covering basic sanitation would be the first issue to be addressed, because there is an alarming number of countries that lack from sanitation infrastructure which help the promotion of health by preventing humans to develop any diseases as a consequence of being in contact with their own wastes such as sewage or garbage.

To conclude, although internet access offers a wide range of benefits and opportunities to people, there are more urgent issues to be solved around the world. Hence governments should consider about the use they are planning to give their money, because there are human basic needs to be covered first.