In many countries school-age children are spending their free time in doing homework. Is it a good or bad thing? What is your own opinion? Give examples to support your view.

Education is an integral part of a child's development phase as it builds a strong foundation of a bright future. However, question arises on the time a child spends in doing his homework. We are living in an extremely competitive world where each individual is preparing himself to participate in cut-throat competition and primarily, to win every aspect of it. To achieve this, it is widely believed that a child should spend most of his time with text books. I shall explain both positive and negative impacts of this behaviour before concluding whether it is a good thing or a bad thing.

To start with, some people are of opinion that a child should spend most of his free time in doing homework. In this way, weak children get a chance to grasp things that they might have missed earlier and can compete with their quick-learner counterparts. For instance, one of my friend was not good with the mathematics when we were in school together. So his parents decided to enrol him in out-of-school coaching classes where trained faculty taught him specifically and dedicatedly. As a result of this, he was able to understand complex problems and managed to fill the gap in understanding.

On the other hand, there are a few parents those who believe that extra-curricular activities are equally important for a child. Hence, a child should spend his free time in developing these qualities by involving himself in physical activities like sports. Children who are indulged in sports and games are able to develop their complete personality. A recent study has been done in this aspect where it was found that children who spend their free time in extra-curricular activities have better IQ score as compared to those who always found busy spending it with their text-books and syllabus.

To my opinion, it should be the choice of a child to decide on how they want to spend their leisure time and parents should support it unconditionally. Having said that, I also believe that it is certainly not a good thing if a child is spending plenty of his free time with his course books only.