In many countries school children spend a lot of their free time doing homework. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Homework has been a part of students lives for so long that the idea of not doing it can seem surreal, or even impossible. Some people seem to believe that this will help the children in their academic career. But if you stop to think about it, the truth is that homework is not necessary. Well, here are a few arguments that will definitely convince that homework is not something that should be done by kids.

Kids already have seven hours of school. You start school at eight and go home at three. That’s a full day of school. Most adults work similar lengths of time at work and come home exhausted. Yet they can’t understand when their kids have trouble focusing at the end of a full day of learning.

But the biggest fallacy of all lies in our near religious confidence that more homework makes better students .School is a time for learning, and it takes up much of the day.

After school is the time for pursuing your own hobbies and personal pastimes. Regardless of how much a student generally studies each day, if that student sacrifices sleep time to study more than usual, he or she will have more trouble understanding material taught in class and be more likely to struggle on an assignment or test the following day.

Students are increasingly likely to sacrifice sleep time for studying in the latter years of high school. I strongly believe, this negative dynamic will become increasingly prevalent over time.