In many countries, young people are finding it harder and harder to find permanent jobs. Why is this? What can be done to

improve the situation?

A permanent job is always a dream for any college graduate . But, in several nations across the world, it is getting tough for many youngsters to find suitable and permanent employment.

There are a couple of noticeable reasons. Firstly, many redundant jobs which earlier involved human intervention have been replaced by machines or robots. Because, machines commit less errors, are more efficient and do need regular pay hikes thereby reducing overhead costs of the company. For example, many chocolate manufacturers in the U.S. have replaced employees by machines to achieve greater accuracy in making chocolates along with achieving immaculate, consistent and attractive packaging. As a result, employee strength was reduced by 30% and no more jobs were created by the industry.

Secondly, a more compelling reason for multinationals to not hire youngsters as permanent employees because they simply do not have long term visibility of projects. Therefore, they are, most of the time, looking for candidates who can work on temporary basis, which does not suit any fresher seeking employment. For example, plethora of IT companies and government of India undertaking institutions hire people who are keen on working on contract for a couple of months. Furthermore, there is also no assurity whether the contract will get renewed after expiration. Hence a large section of young professionals find it difficult or are somewhat hesitant to work on contract position due to job insecurity.

If there are problems, then there are ought to be solutions as well. In order to improve the situation, companies that have started to replace humans with robots/machines must setup a research and developments where young and energetic graduates can put their minds to work on how to optimize the overall business process as well as enhance the automation algorithms. Moreover, governments must change their mindset or policy to offer permanent or at least long term positions to young and fresh minds. This way the government can hit not just two, but three, stones: Job creation, brain drain to private sector or foreign countries, and last but not the least, a sense of security in the minds of its citizens. Moreover, youngsters should also enhance their skills perpetually to be in the race.

In conclusion, as stated earlier, that there is no problem in this world that cannot be solved. Problems of automation or robots taking over jobs is definitely a threat for humanity. Young job seekers can, in fact, rather, must ram themselves up with updated skills and technologies. Government and private sector companies can also play a helping hand in order to maintain the balance.