Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

Computers have been a boon to mankind and it has significant merits for us. Specifically, computer games have increasingly been popular not only amongst youngsters but for people belonging to all age groups. This brings with it the growing concern of diminishing mental as well as physical health. This essay tends to elaborate upon some problems and highlight possible solutions to decrease its usage.

To commence with, the biggest threat of video games is that it becomes addictive in nature and children are shun from the world due to its continuous target achieving and award winning race. Also, it inculcates a more irritating behaviour and triggers rapid mood swings amongst players. To overcome this scenario, parents and teachers should encourage participation in outdoor activities which can increase team building, improve upon communication skill and problem solving abilities. To demonstrate, a survey done by American Medical Association accounted for more than 60% of youth are tangled with stress problems and anxiety disorder due to increase in use of computer games.

To add further, playing video games leads to sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that is accompanied with obesity. Admittedly, inactive life is a pressing concern for parents and also for pediatricians. To abolish the detrimental effect of indoor games on human body, parents and teachers should onus to introduce more physical games as a part of their school curriculum. For instance, a study of medical science depicts a rise of 38% in intellectual level and physical strength of rural students who go cycling to school as oppose to urban pupils.

To summarise, it can be reiterated that excessive exposure of video games at young age can drag child to poor interpersonal skills and unhealthy lifestyle. It can be recommended that parents and teachers can be of ample help to bring children out of this vicious cycle by determining an active timetable.