Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parents should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way.

It is generally accepted that spending too much time in front of the TV harms children’s development. In my opinion, parents should by all means limit their children's’ Television and computer screen time, especially while they are younger.

Watching TV or using a computer can be addictive, even for adults. Parents must prevent their children from developing bad habits, like spending a lot of their time in front of the Screen. Not only should parents strictly limit their children's' screen time, they also need to be role models. Certainly, younger children will need more guidance, while teenagers can be given more responsibility in how they spend their time.

Moreover, Watching TV is a passive way to spend time with no social interaction. While this point is not so much about computers, physical exercise and playing with other children are essential activities for healthy development. Spending a lot of time in front of computer or TV screens limit’s a child time for such activities.

Especially, Younger children can not concentrate for an extended time span without breaks. Watching TV or playing computer games for many hours can hurt their ability to concentrate on their homework or a book later on. So even if the content watched is age adequate and educational, watching it for too long can be harmful for a child.

All things considered, there are many reasons why parents are well advised to monitor their children's’ use of TV and computers closely, especially younger children who need to be guided to spend their time in active and healthy ways.