Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Several museums charge visitors money as entry fees, wherein the others are open to public for free entry. This essay agrees that historical places and artefacts should be open to local and tourists to be able to learn and understand the history of the nation. This essay will firstly discuss the benefits of collecting entry fees to the museums, followed by the drawbacks this could bring about to the society and its peoples.

The money collected can be used for the maintenance of the property as well as the salary of the employees working in the museum. Additionally, the museums will only attract people who decide to enter the premised due to their sheer interest to the exhibits. For instance, the Dubai museum located in the prime city location is sometimes crowded by public during summer months to avoid the extreme hot weather.

However, the negative impact of levying admission fee from public over rules the positive impacts. People interested in historical exhibits and artefacts would divert their interest to less or no cost activities. Other impact is the possibility for students to develop an interest to history and dive deep into the subject can be narrowed due to the cost incurred by the parents as well as the schools. Dubai museum is a prime example, where all the educational institutions in Dubai take their students for a look and learn session at least once a year.

In conclusion, despite the few advantages it is recommended to maintain a charge free admission to all the museums inorder to provide the public and students an opportunity to learn and experience the history and culture of the country.