Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible To what extent do you agree or disagree

Providing the population with food is one of the main responsibilities of the country. While I believe that countries should be able produce food for their own people , I am also optimistic about importing them.

On the one hand , being the self-sufficient in growing their own crops for the entire population has  some beneficial sides . Firstly, there is no doubt that the food products which are  produced within the country are more healthier as they do not require much time to get from farm to table. Reducing travel time makes it possible to transport the food while

they are still fresh. Second reason why people support producing the food within the country is that , they usually would be cheaper . Because, the imported food always requires transport fee and tariffs. Thus in my opinion the food usually comes in higher prices.

On the other hand, I believe that it is not easy for some countries to supply their populations' needs in food. This is because some countries have limited land for growing crops for the entire residents. For example Singapore rely on imports of food  as it is one fully urbanized country in the world . Furthermore , we often need imported food due to the fact that not all food products are found in our country . For instance mangoes only grow in tropical areas and definitely it is difficult for landlocked countries to provide their populations with these kinds of food products.

In conclusion, I admit that encouraging local foods is important as they are more reliable and less expensive . However we can not simlpy ignore iported foods since there are some countries that dependent on other countries for some kind of foods.