Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy.

Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it

It is true that there has been a decrease in educational standars during the last few years especially in academic subjects such as litreture and math. There are various reasons for this scheme and teachers and school authorities should take steps to tackle this problem.

The most important reason which causes such a decline in educational standards is that schools time table is already full with impractical subjects such as art, music and soprt. It is a fact that these subjects can be learned by students while they are not at school and children can opt them based on their talent, motivation and interests. Furthermore, using software programs such as calculator or word processor diminish the pupil's quality in calculating and dictation. Moreover, schools suffer lack of useful teaching styles and methods and consequently childeren do not trained well in some specific subjects. Take Germany for example, the government could boost the students' knowledge of literature by training the teachers in 20 secondary schools in 2015.

There are a few solutions for this negative trend that can be beneficial and decrease the detrimental effects of scarcity of perfect educational system. Firstly, Governments should enhance the educational quality by employing well trained teachers who are motivated to educate pupils. Secondly, compulsory training courses for teachers should be added to schools' curriculum. Finally, schools' educational program should be revised regarding the academic subjects that are taught to children. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that the American governments could overcome this problem by improving the educational system in 2004 and as a result the literature and accounting literacy increased up to 30% among the students.

In conclusion, although children should learn descipline, art and vocational trainings at school since they are practical in their future life, the importance of academic subjects should not be neglected. educational authorities can address rhis problem by regulating and controling the school curriculum.