Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

In the modern world, unlike medieval times, people have a plethora of choices for commutation however many people prefer to travel by cars rather than buses and trains. Although there are a plethora of reasons behind it however the preponderant reason being the faster and comfortable travel. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate on these two reasons. Additionally, I will also highlight the steps which local governments can take to encourage people to use public transportation.

Firstly travel by car is considered to be more comfortable in comparison to train and buses. unlike trains and buses, most of the cars are air-conditioned which reduce travel fatigue while covering longer distances. Furthermore, passengers can stop the car at their liking while travelling from one place to another which makes travel more convenient as compared to public transportation. For instance, in many third world countries, people prefer to travel by cars due to the lack of facilities in public transportation like uncomfortable seating, no air-conditioning. In a recent survey done in India from transportation authority, it was published that around 70% would choose travelling by car as it is much more convenient and comfortable as compared to public transport. Moreover travelling by car is much faster as compared to buses and trains as it does not a selected route and it does not stop at designated stops.

Lastly, if all these factors are taken into consideration the government should take measures like upgrading transportation infrastructure which can make public transport comfortable and efficient. Apart from this, the government should discourage the use of cars by introducing heavy taxes on licenses as well as cars. For instance, the government of Singapore has introduced similar measures which discourage the use of cars and promotes the use of public transportation. Hence these measures have brought in encouraging results whereby in a recent survey done by a local newspaper published that 90 per cent of commuters in Singapore use public transportation every day.