Many people these days have computer, laptops, telephones at their home for work. Do you think, working from home has more advantages or disadvantages? Give reasons.

In this technological advanced world, individuals are able to own electronic gadgets such as personal computers, laptops and smartphones at affordable prices. By considering this availability of equipment and flexibility to work from distant locations, most of the organizations offer work from home facility to their workers. Though primary reason for introducing this facility is the comfort and flexibility of employees but I believe that It has brought numerous limitations, which I shall discuss in this essay.

Major disadvantage of working from home is less productivity. Focus and concentration, which workforce environment offers cannot be denied and external factors at home such as noise of television, neighbours pets or vehicles really distract and hamper the one's ongoing task and It takes lots of additional time to recall the facts and figures collected earlier to resume the work assignment. Another important factor is the competitive environment that boosts one to achieve the daily goals with efficiency, which is clearly absent by working far from workforce area. Hence, productivity and efficiency of an individual really gets affected when worked from home.

In addition to aforementioned factors, misuse of functioning from remote location is one of the major concerns. For instance, It has been reported in Economic Times, the national newspaper of India that 65% of the employees working in MNCs stay at home once in a week on the name of this facility and do not work in real. Practitioners following this phenomena are serious menace to the employers as they spend major part of their revenue to pay for their staff salaries and other facilities. Therefore, this tendency is direct loss for company business.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that work from home If used with the same purpose it was introduced for the convenience of the workers, would be a win win situation for both employees and employers. Otherwise, Its disadvantages are a serious threat for the productivity of the staff members and loss of business of a hiring firm.