Many people these days travel far for work or spend more hours working. Does this trend have advantages or disadvantages? What do you think about work-life balance?

In this highly competitive world, people have been spending a significant amount of time in computing and working in their workplaces. This trend is not necessarily a positive development because it can lead to health problems as well as disruption of families and personal relationships.

To commence with, there is nothing to prove that long working hours have improved productivity. In fact, they fail to concentrate on work and take a long time to finish tasks assigned at their jobs. Apart from this, traveling far from work does not help them either. Secondly, in many major cities, people have to devote several hours of time to communicate to their offices. At last, they reach home braving the traffic and a hard-working day. As a result, little energy has left in individuals while coming to their homes after a busy schedule of work in their daily lives. According to a BBC survey report, people who are spending long hours in companies are likely to develop health problems such as heart disease and dementia. Therefore, this kind of working trend has been a drawback for individuals.

The work-life balance has been a detrimental effect on employees as they are spending long hours at the offices working as well as traveling. Consequently, they get little time to spend with their dear ones. For instance, parents, who work long hours, often fail to take proper care of their young children. Besides, adults who are working overtime are unable to enjoy their leisure time due to the heavy workload in their firms. This kind of working has badly affected their health.

In conclusion, extra working hours in companies do not improve the productivity of workers as well as employers. As this trend has disadvantages of the individuals' social life. Thus, work-life balance is essential to lead a contented life. Besides, it is hoped that companies will take initiatives for removing the overtime workload on their workers and will allow proper working hours to employees at their jobs.